Thunder Bay Nearby: Ignace

Ignace is at the junction of the Transportation-Canada Highway 17 and highway 599, Ontario's northernmost road. Ignace was originally a railway town and was the site of two base metal mining operations. Ignace now focuses on forestry, CP Rail, natural gas transmission and tourism and has a population of 1,800.

The town was named in 1879 after Igance Mentour, a Mohawk from the Caughnawaga (now Kanawake) Reserve south of Montreal, who guided Sir Sanford Fleming across Canada in 1872, when he was first planning the route of the trans-continental railway. After the community became a municipal township in 1908, some wanted to remame it Elmsdale, but the historical importance of its original name stuck.

The town boasts access to many lakes and rivers, providing opportunity for anglers to fish pike, walleye, bass and trout. Visitors will want take a walk down Heritage Corridor to see the large murals depicting certain themes relevant to the area's history.

Annual events

White Otter Days, featuring many special events throughout July & August.

Ignace Business listings

Ignace Attractions

Visitor Centre
(807) 934-2202
The town's visitor information centre displays an original 63 foot tall fire tower, as well as mining displays, and arboretum and a forest fire display.

Agimac Lake
Choose between two of the best sandy beaches in the region.

Indian Pictographs
Indian paintings dating back to prehistoric times can be found throughout the Ignace area.

Raleigh Falls
10 minutes from Ignace
See a breathtaking view of the falls and picnic area nestled in this rugged landscape.

Sandbar Lake Provincial Park
about 12 km northeast of Ignace along Highway 599.
(807) 223-7535
Enjoy over 5,083 hectares ( 12,560 acres) of camping, hiking, swimming, and boating.

White Otter Castle
on White Otter Lake, Highway 622, 64 km N of Atikokan
This timber home was hand-built in 1903 by Jimmy McOuat, a lonely prospector who had made and lost a fortune in the gold rush and by gambling. He hoisted massive three tonne logs of green timber up to four stories during the building's construction. A $1.1 million restoration was recently completed.

Community Map